Odds to Win NL Cy Young Award

The National League Cy Young Award is given to the best pitcher in the NL for that year. The members of the Baseball Writer’s Association of America vote on the award with one representative from each team. Each member places a vote for first, second, third, fourth and fifth among the pitchers in the National League. The formula used to calculate the final scores is a weighted sum of the votes. Obviously, the pitcher with the highest score wins the award.

Clayton Kershaw is coming off a historic 2014 season.  He not only won the NL Cy Young Award, but he also became the first National League pitcher to be named NL MVP since Bob Gibson in 1968.  Kershaw went 21-3 with a 1.77 ERA and 0.86 WHIP with 239 strikeouts over 198.1 innings last year.  He also had six complete games and two shutouts.  Oh yeah, he’s just 27 years old.

To no surprise, Kershaw entered the season as a 1/1 favorite to win the award, which would be his fourth.  After a semi-slow start to the 2015 season up to this point, Kershaw is now the second betting choice at 7/2.  He is right behind favorite Max Scherzer (3/1), who entered the season at 8/1 odds.

Two of the biggest movers up the odds list have been Zach Greinke (25/1 to 9/2) and Gerrit Cole (33/1 to 5/1).  A couple of guys have gone from not even having odds at the beginning of the season to now being in the discussion.  Michael Wacha (9/1), Shelby Miller (16/1), A.J. Burnett (16/1) and Bartolo Colon (50/1) are four players who have massively exceeded expectations to this point and find themselves on the list of favorites.

Updated Odds to Win 2015 NL Cy Young

Max Scherzer 3/1
Clayton Kershaw 7/2
Zach Greinke 9/2
Gerrit Cole 5/1
Michael Wacha 9/1
Madison Bumgarner 12/1
Shelby Miller 16/1
A.J. Burnett 16/1
Jacob DeGrom 16/1
Matt Harvey 20/1
Cole Hamels 25/1
James Shields 33/1
Bartolo Colon 50/1

Read More Like This