2020 Heisman Trophy Winner Odds


The Heisman Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding player in college football each year.  Before the start of each season, oddsmakers set the odds for those players who are most likely to win the award.  Recently, being listed as the favorite in the preseason has been all but a guarantee not to win the Heisman (see our table at the bottom of the page for past results).

This season the early odds show a two-horse race with Ohio State’s Justin Fields and Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence leading the pack. Both QBs are coming off of stellar seasons, though many think Lawrence was a little disappointing in his sophomore season. Both players put up big numbers and both of their teams are likely to be in the College Football Playoffs conversation.

As has become the norm, quarterbacks dominate this list with all five of the top contenders playing from the signal-caller position. There are two running backs in the top ten, however, running backs and wide receivers have all but disappeared from the Heisman conversation. I think you’d be hard-pressed to find a casual college football fan that could name the best running back or wide receiver in the country. In any case, the table below shows the odds on the remaining contenders for this year’s best player in college football from BetOnline.

The Change column shows any movement in the odds since our last update.  The last column, titled “Hesiman” represents the implied odds each player has to win the award at the given market odds.

2020 Heisman Trophy: Updated Odds to Win

Player Class Pos School Odds Change Heisman
Justin Fields JR QB Ohio State +450 New 13.07%
Trevor Lawrence JR QB Clemson +475 New 12.50%
Spencer Rattler SO QB Oklahoma +1000 New 6.53%
Sam Ehlinger SR QB Texas +1200 New 5.53%
Jamie Newman SR QB Georgia +1400 New 4.79%
Chuba Hubbard JR RB Oklahoma +1600 New 4.23%
Travis Etienne SR RB Clemson +1800 New 3.78%
Ian Book SR QB Notre Dame +2000 New 3.42%
Kedon Slovis SO QB USC +2500 New 2.76%
Kyle Trask SR QB Florida +2500 New 2.76%
Mac Jones JR QB Alabama +2500 New 2.76%
Sam Howell SO QB North Carolina +2500 New 2.76%
Bo Nix SO QB Auburn +2800 New 2.48%
Myles Brennan JR QB LSU +2800 New 2.48%
Lynn Bowden Jr. SR WR Kentucky +3300 New 2.11%
Spencer Sanders SO QB Oklahoma State +3300 New 2.11%
Najee Harris SR RB Alabama +4000 New 1.75%
Sean Clifford JR QB Penn State +4000 New 1.75%
Brock Purdy JR QB Iowa State +5000 New 1.41%
Derek Stingley Jr SO CB/WR LSU +5000 New 1.41%
Hamilcar Rashed Jr. SR OLB Oregon State +5000 New 1.41%
Journey Brown JR RB Penn State +5000 New 1.41%
Tanner Morgan JR QB Minnesota +5000 New 1.41%
Trey Sanders SO RB Alabama +5000 New 1.41%
Chatarius Atwell JR WR Louisville +6600 New 1.07%
Devonta Smith SR WR Alabama +6600 New 1.07%
Dillon Gabriel SO QB UCF +6600 New 1.07%
Ja’Marr Chase JR WR LSU +6600 New 1.07%
Jaret Patterson JR RB Buffalo +6600 New 1.07%
Javian Hawkins JR RB Louisville +6600 New 1.07%
Jaylen Waddle JR WR Alabama +6600 New 1.07%
Kenneth Gainwell JR RB Memphis +6600 New 1.07%
Michael Penix Jr. SO QB Indiana +6600 New 1.07%
Penei Sewell JR OT Oregon +6600 New 1.07%
Rondale Moore JR WR Purdue +6600 New 1.07%
Tylan Wallace SR WR Oklahoma +6600 New 1.07%
Zamir White SO RB Georgia +6600 New 1.07%

Past Heisman Winners & Preseason Favorites Odds

If you are thinking about placing a wager on a player to win the Heisman, you may want to consider picking someone other than the favorite.  Since we started archiving these odds in 2009, no favorite to win prior to the season has ended up taking home the award.  In fact, many of the players who ended up winning were not listed with odds to win in the preseason, we’ve marked those players with an asterisk (*).

Perhaps most notably, Johnny Manziel in 2012 wasn’t even available to bet in futures markets until the eighth week of the season.  At that time he had the sixth-best odds on the board at +1200, with Geno Smith listed as the favorite at -250 (Braxton Miller +500, Collin Klein +700, Matt Barkley +800, and DeAnthony Thomas +800 were all listed ahead of him as well).

Given the past results, you’re better off taking a player in the +2000 range than hoping the preseason favorite pays off.

2018 Joe Burrow +5000 Trevor Lawrence +300
2018 Kyler Murray +2000 Bryce Love +500
2017 Baker Mayfield +1000 Sam Darnold +500
2016 Lamar Jackson +10000 DeShaun Watson +500
2015 Derrick Henry +2500 Trevone Boykin +625
2014 Marcus Mariota +425 Jameis Winston +240
2013 Jameis Winston* +600 Braxton Miller/Johnny Manziel +350
2012 Johnny Manziel* +1200 Matt Barkley +300
2011 Robert Griffin III +2800 Andrew Luck +325
2010 Cam Newton* +2000 Mark Ingram +400
2009 Mark Ingram* +3300 Tim Tebow +225

Read More Like This