Bet at 5dimes

The Super Bowl is where NFL players get to take their game to the biggest stage and showcase it to everyone. While players could set records in the regular season, it means nothing if they don’t produce in the big game. It’s also a chance for players to make fans forget about a mediocre season. Players’ careers are sometimes judged on whether or not they have won a Super Bowl, and how they perform in that game.

What goes unnoticed many times is the man in charge of the players. NFL coaches are sometimes forgotten during the game.  Their preparation and decision-making are two of the most important factors in which team wins, and which loses. While they can’t win a MVP or make the game winning field goal, they are the ones responsible for putting their players in the right positions to succeed. When a team loses, the coach is the one who gets all the blame, and when the team wins, the coach never seems to get enough credit.

Two years ago, we got to see one of the most intriguing head coaching match-ups of all-time in Super Bowl XLVII.  John Harbaugh and Jim Harbaugh became the first set of brothers to coach in the Super Bowl against one another.  Older brother John got the best of Jim as the Ravens edged the 49ers by a final of 34-31.  It will be Bill Belichick and Pete Carroll squaring off in the 2015 Super Bowl.

Belichick has been in coaching for 40 years.  He earned his first head-coaching job with the Cleveland Browns back in 1991.  After getting fired in 1995, he did not get a head-coaching gig until 2000 with the New York Jets.  He then became the head coach of the New England Patriots, where he is currently the longest-tenured coach in the league.  He has led the Patriots to six Super Bowl appearances, including this one, and has gone 3-2 in his previous five.  He has won the AP NFL Coach of the Year award three times during the 2003, 2007 and 2010 seasons.

While Carroll doesn’t have Belichick’s credentials, he has to be considered one of the best coaches in the league now.  He was the head coach of the New York Jets for one season in 1994.  He eventually replaced Bill Parcells in New England in 1997, and coached there for three years before getting fired.  Carroll felt that college football was his calling, and he served as head coach at USC from 2000-09, winning one National Championship and taking the Trojans to another.  After doing everything he could in college, he decided to give the NFL another try.  It has paid off in a big way as Carroll won the Super Bowl with the Seahawks in just his fourth season on the job last year.  He is looking to become the first head coach to win back-to-back Lombardi Trophy’s since Belichick did it back in 2003-04.

Chuck Noll holds the record for most Super Bowl wins (4) as a head coach.  Don Shula and Belichick hold the record for most Super Bowl appearances (6).  Tom Landry (2-3) has been there five times.  Only three guys have won the Super Bowl as a player and as a head coach, and they are Mike Ditka, Tom Flores and Tony Dungy.  Here is a complete list of all the head coaches in Super Bowl history with both the winners and loses each year.

Season Super Bowl Winning coach Team Opponent Losing coach
2014 XLVIII Pete Carroll Seattle Seahawks Denver Broncos John Fox
2013 XLVII John Harbaugh Baltimore Ravens San Francisco 49ers Jim Harbaugh
2012 XLVI Tom Coughlin New York Giants New England Patriots Bill Belichick
2011 XLV Mike McCarthy Green Bay Packers Pittsburgh Steelers Mike Tomlin
2010 XLIV Sean Payton New Orleans Saints Indianapolis Colts Jim Caldwell
2009 XLIII Mike Tomlin Pittsburgh Steelers Arizona Cardinals Ken Whisenhunt
2008 XLII Tom Coughlin New York Giants New England Patriots Bill Belichick
2007 XLI Tony Dungy Indianapolis Colts Chicago Bears Lovie Smith
2006 XL Bill Cowher Pittsburgh Steelers Seattle Seahawks Mike Holmgren
2005 XXXIX Bill Belichick New England Patriots Philadelphia Eagles Andy Reid
2004 XXXVIII Bill Belichick New England Patriots Carolina Panthers John Fox
2003 XXXVII Jon Gruden Tampa Bay Buccaneers Oakland Raiders Bill Callahan
2002 XXXVI Bill Belichick New England Patriots St. Louis Rams Mike Martz
2001 XXXV Brian Billick Baltimore Ravens New York Giants Jim Fassel
2000 XXXIV Dick Vermeil St. Louis Rams Tennessee Titans Jeff Fisher
1999 XXXIII Mike Shanahan Denver Broncos Atlanta Falcons Dan Reeves
1998 XXXII Mike Shanahan Denver Broncos Green Bay Packers Mike Holmgren
1997 XXXI Mike Holmgren Green Bay Packers New England Patriots Bill Parcells
1996 XXX Barry Switzer Dallas Cowboys Pittsburgh Steelers Bill Cowher
1995 XXIX George Seifert San Francisco 49ers San Diego Chargers Bobby Ross
1994 XXVIII Jimmy Johnson Dallas Cowboys Buffalo Bills Marv Levy
1993 XXVII Jimmy Johnson Dallas Cowboys Buffalo Bills Marv Levy
1992 XXVI Joe Gibbs Washington Redskins Buffalo Bills Marv Levy
1991 XXV Bill Parcells New York Giants Buffalo Bills Marv Levy
1990 XXIV George Seifert San Francisco 49ers Denver Broncos Dan Reeves
1989 XXIII Bill Walsh San Francisco 49ers Cincinnati Bengals Sam Wyche
1988 XXII Joe Gibbs Washington Redskins Denver Broncos Dan Reeves
1987 XXI Bill Parcells New York Giants Denver Broncos Dan Reeves
1986 XX Mike Ditka Chicago Bears New England Patriots Raymond Berry
1985 XIX Bill Walsh San Francisco 49ers Miami Dolphins Don Shula
1984 XVIII Tom Flores Los Angeles Raiders Washington Redskins Joe Gibbs
1983 XVII Joe Gibbs Washington Redskins Miami Dolphins Don Shula
1982 XVI Bill Walsh San Francisco 49ers Cincinnati Bengals Forrest Gregg
1981 XV Tom Flores Oakland Raiders Philadelphia Eagles Dick Vermeil
1980 XIV Chuck Noll Pittsburgh Steelers Los Angeles Rams Ray Malavasi
1979 XIII Chuck Noll Pittsburgh Steelers Dallas Cowboys Tom Landry
1978 XII Tom Landry Dallas Cowboys Denver Broncos Red Miller
1977 XI John Madden Oakland Raiders Minnesota Vikings Bud Grant
1976 X Chuck Noll Pittsburgh Steelers Dallas Cowboys Tom Landry
1975 IX Chuck Noll Pittsburgh Steelers Minnesota Vikings Bud Grant
1974 VIII Don Shula Miami Dolphins Minnesota Vikings Bud Grant
1973 VII Don Shula Miami Dolphins Washington Redskins George Allen
1972 VI Tom Landry Dallas Cowboys Miami Dolphins Don Shula
1971 V Don McCafferty Baltimore Colts Dallas Cowboys Tom Landry
1970 IV Hank Stram Kansas City Chiefs Minnesota Vikings Bud Grant
1969 III Weeb Ewbank New York Jets Baltimore Colts Don Shula
1968 II Vince Lombardi Green Bay Packers Oakland Raiders John Rauch
1967 I Vince Lombardi Green Bay Packers Kansas City Chiefs Hank Stram